Revamped event set to begin

Peter Wright

The revamped Premier League Darts will begin on Thursday with an eight-strong field set to contest the first of 16 nights of high-quality arrows.

There is a new look to this year’s tournament, with each of the 16 league nights consisting of quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final over a best-of-11 legs format, with the winner of each event earning five points, the runner-up three and the two semi-finalists getting two points apiece.

Each night will be staged at different venues across the United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany and the Netherlands, with the opening event set to take place on Thursday at Cardiff’s Motorpoint Arena.

The top four players in the standings at the end of the regular season will then make it through to the playoffs where the eventual champion will be crowned.

Premier League Darts Betting Odds

This year’s Premier League will also have a reduced number of players, with eight competing instead of the usual 10, including Masters champion Joe Cullen (12/1), who sealed the final place at the tournament with his victory in Milton Keynes last month.

World number one Gerwyn Price (3/1) will also be returning after missing last year’s event due to a positive Covid test, while World Championship runner-up Michael Smith (7/1) is also back after failing to make the cut 12 months ago.

Reigning world champion Peter Wright (9/2) and five-time Premier League winner Michael van Gerwen (7/2) will also compete, as will defending champion Jonny Clayton (5/1), who beat Jose de Sousa 11-5 in last year’s final.

Two other former champions, Gary Anderson (12/1) and James Wade (20/1) complete the field, with the final night of the regular season due to take place at London’s O2 Arena on May 19, followed by the playoffs a week later at Newcastle’s Utilita Arena.

Darts Betting Odds

Author: Paula Allen